How to Erase Your GM History

The Google Maps application automatically keeps tabs on your whereabouts. It monitors the spots you visit frequently, in order to later provide you with recommendations of similar places you might like. The whole thing may hypothetically come in handy. However, if privacy is among your utmost priorities, realizing that the tech giant follows your every step is probably not too comfy.

Fortunately, you can clear your saved in-app locations in just a few easy steps. The procedure allows you to kill two birds with one stone i.e., erase the records about your most frequently visited spots and clear your GM search history. Voilà! And you’re feeling free again.

Follow these steps if you want to clear your GM history on your computer:

1. Head to the app’s official site and hit the hamburger menu icon.
2. Choose ‘Your data in Maps’.
3. Below Google-wide Controls, you will notice Location History. Hit the See and delete activity there.
4. Hit the spots-you’ve-been-to-and-saved red-colored box in the bottom left corner of your Timeline.
5. Erase all of your recorded-by-Google places by hitting the corresponding button.

Now, here’s a quick step-by-step guide on how to do the same on mobile:

1. Launch the service on your mobile device and tap on your profile photo.
2. Select Settings in the dropdown menu, then Go to Maps History.
4. Tap the ellipsis near the Search your activity bar.
5. Opt for Delete activity by.
6. Choose a time period for the data you wish to erase. If you opt for All time, you’ll delete everything.
7. Upon narrowing down the time period, hit Delete. 

What about you? Do you prefer allowing all the places you visit to sit in your Google’s accurate records? Or are you more of a privacy freak like us? You’re welcome to share your thoughts on the topic in the comments below. We value feedback from our readers greatly.

Leave a comment